Auto insurance can be complicated at times, and after you have some driving tickets, accidents, or charges on your record it can be even more complex.
If you have been told you need FR44 insurance, you might be confused and wondering what the FR44 form is, how it affects your insurance, and the best way to obtain FR44 insurance. You are probably also wondering how the costs will affect you.
Read on to learn more and then reach out to us at eINSURE. We can help make the process of getting your FR44 easy and quick!
What is FR-44 Insurance?
FR44 insurance is a document that proves financial responsibility by demonstrating the policyholder has sufficient auto insurance in place. The document is issued by your insurance carrier once you have purchased car insurance and sent to the DMV by your carrier.
There are filing fees you will need to pay for the DMV to record the FR44. You can send it to your DMV yourself or ask your carrier to forward it for you.
When is FR-44 Insurance Needed?
The FR44 is necessary following certain driving offense convictions like a DUI or driving without a license. The state may require the FR44 after these offenses in order to prove you carry at least the state minimum required amount of liability insurance.
Some of the convictions that require the FR-44 insurance form in Florida include:
- The driver has a DUI
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving while underinsured when DUI happened
- Federal law violations in Florida or any other state
The convictions in Virginia that will lead to needing to file the FR44 form include:
- The driver has a DUI
- Driver mains another person while driving under the influence
- Driving with a license that has been suspended or revoked due to an alcohol charge
- Federal law violation in Virginia or any state
Where is FR44 Insurance Applicable?
FR44 insurance is only applicable in two states – Florida and Virginia. Most other states in the US use a different form called the SR-22 form, which is also designed to be proof of financial responsibility after certain charges. Only a handful of states do not require the SR22 or FR44 insurance form, including Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Caroline, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania.
What is the Difference Between FR44 and SR22 Insurance?
The SR-22 form is used in states other than Florida and Virginia to show proof of financial responsibility, whereas the FR-44 form is used in Florida and Virginia only. The FR-44 form requires the holder to carry higher limits than is required by the SR-22 form. The terms are often used to mean the same thing, though.
FR-44 insurance form required limits – Florida (100/300/50)
- $100,000 per person / $300,000 per accident bodily injury
- $50,000 property damage
The state minimum auto insurance limits in Florida for drivers who are not bound by the FR-44 form are $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident in bodily injury and $10,000 in property damage coverage. This is a significant difference in coverage level and premium costs from what is required with FR44 insurance.
FR-44 insurance form required limits – Virginia (50/100/40)
- $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident bodily injury
- $40,000 property damage
Virginia drivers who are not on FR44 insurance have to maintain auto insurance at minimum limits of $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage and $20,000 in property damage limits. You can see in Virginia the FR44 limits are double those of a driver without the FR44 requirement.
It is important to note if you do not maintain auto coverage of at least the state limits required by the FR44 form, your insurance will be canceled. This is a critical part of meeting the requirements to regain your full driving privileges.
How Long Does FR44 Insurance Last?
If you are required to have FR44 insurance, it will last for three years, and that time generally starts on the date your insurance carrier files the FR44 with your state. Remember you must meet any other conditions or limits imposed by your state during that time, as well, for your license to be fully reinstated.
You may have different probationary requirements imposed by the judge, courts, or DMV, and those timeframes may differ from your FR44 conditions. You will need to comply with both the FR44 requirements, and any other conditions imposed outside the FR44 requirement.
How Do I Find an FR44 Insurance Policy?
Several carriers offer FR44 insurance policies, but the rates may vary widely between carriers. This is a good time to compare your options to find the best insurance company for your FR44 needs.
Your most recent carrier may drop you or may not be able to offer you the most competitive rate following the charges that lead to your FR44 requirement so remember you may need to switch companies.
Drivers with alcohol or drug convictions are considered higher-risk drivers, so the cost of insurance is higher than it is for a driver without the FR44 requirement. This also means some companies will not issue insurance to a driver who needs the FR44.
We can help you find the best option and get your FR44 form issued to the state quickly, so you don’t have to worry. We’ll guide you as you navigate the process and help you compare your options. Reach out today for a no-obligation quote and more information.
How do I Learn More?
To learn more about FR44 insurance, contact us anytime at eINSURE. We are happy to answer any questions you have about FR44 insurance requirements and how to obtain it.